Behind the scenes: project preperation

We’re launching a program in Cambodia, Wool for Women, that will help to increase the skill set of women through crafting for more information check out our projects page

Hi, my name’s Lily and I’m the resident blogger for Aware. I get to share stories of programs and volunteers after they’ve happened, but I don’t often get to be apart of the “action” – the implementation of programs.

I talk about the outcomes of our programs a lot.

I talk about the fundraising and the partnerships that make programs successful.

Last week, I was able to help out in some of the preparation for Wool for Women by having a crochet lesson by Aware’s Director, Stacey.

I got a lesson in the five basic crochet stitches and how to read patterns.

Then we got to work in making a hat for a baby.

A few hours later we got this:

I couldn’t believe how quick and easy it was to make a hat and a very adorable flower, if I do say so myself.

Of course, in Wool for Women they won’t be making just hats – but teddies, bags, and other clothing!

If you’re interested in Wool for Women and how you could help, please contact Stacey at stacey.aware@gmail.com

Categories: Cambodia, Projects, Stories from Volunteers | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

